This scholarship honors the memory of Mary G. Webster and
her longtime leadership and contributions to the title insurance industry in South Carolina. Mary began her career in the title insurance business searching titles for Lawyers Abstract Company. In 1978 she became Manager of Investors Title Insurance Company. In 1989 she was named Regional Vice President for the State of South Carolina. Mary was employed with the Company for 22 years. She also served as Assistant Secretary for Northeast Investors Title Insurance Company.

As a PLTA member, she served on the Board of Directors (1987,1991 & 1999), Treasurer (1988 & 1989), President-elect (1993) and was President of the Association in 1994. She also served on several committees: Election, Government Liaison, Public Relations and Membership. In 1997, she was awarded the J.Lee McDonald award (awarded by the Board of Directors to the person who has made outstanding contributions to Palmetto Land Title Association). She was a member of the Homebuilders Association, American Land Title Association and the Mortgage Bankers Association. She was co-founder of Wealth Builders Investors Club, and director of the SC Midlands NAIC Council. She was married with 4 children and 1 grandchild. Mary Webster passed away on November 2, 2000 at the young age of 53.

Eligibility Requirements For Mary G. Webster Scholarship

This scholarship is in memory of David S. Mellichamp who was a leader in the field of land title insurance. The David S. Mellichamp Scholarship is open to juniors and seniors who are enrolled full-time majoring in political science or economics and business administration. This scholarship is awarded to students who demonstrate academic achievement by maintaining a 3.0 or higher grade point average and are interested in a career in business. It is offered through an endowment which was made possible through generous donations from the members of the Palmetto Land Title Association. For additional information about the David S. Mellichamp scholarship, please contact the Furman University Financial Aid Office.